The ratification of the Constitution of the Republic of Maldives on 7th August 2008 ushered in a new democratic era. Under the new constitution great emphasis is placed on upholding the doctrines of rule of law and separation of powers.

The executive power is exercised by the government led by the president. Incumbent President of the Republic of Maldives is His Excellency Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom. The current president was elected for a five year term through a general election held on November 2013.

Presently the Maldives have a unicameral legislature empowered with supreme legislative authority. The legislative branch is called the People’sMajlis. Members of the parliament are elected through a general election held in various electorates. Currently there are 85 sitting members, elected for a five year term. Furthermore the Speaker of the parliament is Honourable Abdulla Maseeh Mohamed.

The judicial branch is headed by the Supreme Court of the Maldives. Serving Chief Justice of the Maldives is Honourable Uz Abdullah Saeed. The legal system of the Maldives is a mixture of Islamic law and Common law. At present a reformation process of the Maldivian legal system is underway.

The new constitution introduced a local government system. Under the decentralized system, the atolls and inhabited islands are administered by a locally elected council. Presently there are two cities in the Maldives; the Male’ City and the Addu City. Both cities are headed by an elected Mayor and administered by the City Council. The Local Government Authority oversees and monitors the functioning of elected councils.